A24 Films

For Your Consideration

title title


In this highly imaginative, delightfully absurdist comedy from visionary director Yorgos Lanthimos (Dogtooth), Colin Farrell stars as David, a man who has just been dumped by his wife.  To make matters worse, David lives in a society where single people have 45 days to find true love, or else they are turned into the animal of their choice and released into the woods.  David is kept at the mysterious HOTEL while he searches for a new partner, and after several romantic misadventures decides to make a daring escape to abandon this world. He ultimately joins up with a rebel faction known as The Loners, a group founded on a complete rejection of romance. But once there David meets an enigmatic stranger (Rachel Weisz) who stirs up unexpected and strong feelings within him…

At once a full immersion into a strange and surreal world, and a witty and clever reflection of our own society, The Lobster is a thrillingly audacious vision fully brought to life by Lanthimos and his terrific cast.  The filmmaker displays a completely singular style and mastery of tone, finding the perfect balance between sharp-edged satire and romantic fable that entertains its audience while also leaving them with lots to reflect on long after the credits have rolled.


Best Picture of the Year

Ed Guiney
Lee Magiday
Ceci Dempsey
Yorgos Lanthimos

Best Director

Yorgos Lanthimos

Best Original Screenplay

Yorgos Lanthimos
Efthimis Filippou

Best Actor

Colin Farrell

Best Supporting Actor

John C. Reilly
Ben Whishaw

Best Supporting Actress

Olivia Colman
Léa Seydoux
Rachel Weisz

Best Cinematography

Thimios Bakatakis

Best Production Design

Jacqueline Abrahams

Best Film Editing

Yorgos Mavropsaridis

Best Costume Design

Sarah Blenkinsop

Best Sound Mixing

Lead Re-Recording Mixer
Danny van Spreuwel
Re-Recording Mixer
Johnnie Burn

Production Mixer
Mervyn Moore

Best Sound Editing

Supervising Sound Editor/Designer
Johnnie Burn

Sound Effects Editor
Simon Carroll

Best Makeup and Hairstyling

Makeup Designer
Sharon Doyle

Hair Designer
Eileen Buggy

Best Visual Effects

Visual Effects Supervisor
Olivier Cauwet